Regulatory Links


  Canadian Association of Optometrists (CAO)

The Canadian Association of Optometrists (CAO) is the national voice of optometry in Canada, representing 85% of doctors of optometry (ODs). Founded in 1941 and formally incorporated in 1948, the CAO works with its 10 provincial member associations within a federated framework.

  Canadian Association of Optometry Students

The Canadian Association of Optometry Students/Association canadienne des étudiants en optométrie is an international student organization representing over 500 Canadian Doctors of Optometry students in Canada, US and Puerto Rico. It was first established in 1990.

  American Optometric Association

The American Optometric Association represents more than 44,000 doctors of optometry (O.D.), optometric professionals and optometry students.

  Optometry Examining Board of Canada

Optometry Examining Board of Canada is a national not-for-profit corporation. Its members are the ten provincial optometry regulators in Canada.

  Federation of Optometric Regulatory Authorities of Canada

FORAC is a federation of the optometric regulatory and licensing bodies in Canada dedicated to facilitating discussion, exchanging information, providing a national voice and communicating with others about legislation, registration, standards of practice, continuing competence and any other issues related to the health care system including the profession of optometry.

  The Canadian National Institute for the Blind

Since 1918, CNIB has been dedicated to improving quality of life and driving social inclusion for Canadians who are blind or partially sighted.

Canadian Schools of Optometry

  University of Waterloo - School of Optometry

  Université de Montréal Optometry School

Optometry Regulatory Colleges

  Nova Scotia College of Optometrists

Optometrists who practice in Nova Scotia are licensed by the Nova Scotia College of Optometrists. Through the Optometry Act of Nova Scotia, the province has given the Nova Scotia College of Optometrists the responsibility to govern its affairs and safeguard the public interest. The College came into effect on April 1, 2006.